Apple Pie: A Disaster Averted at the Last Minute

I really should make pies more often, but it seems that Thanksgiving is the only time I get around to it.  I usually have some pie disaster every year.  This one went rather well: the crust rolled out nice and thin and didn’t tear when I flipped it into the pan, I remembered to put foil around the edge so it wouldn’t burn and the holes I poked in the top in the shape of an apple really did look like an apple.  It was, in fact, going rather well.  About half-way through the baking, I painted the top with a mixture of melted butter, sugar and a little cinnamon.  About ten minutes later, I had a look in the oven and the thing was puffed all up and ready to explode.  The butter and sugar mixture had covered the holes and sealed the top.  So the top ended up with a knife-slash through it, but at least my usual post-baking clean-up (sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, a shower and a load of laundry) didn’t include scraping apple-pie creamins out of the oven.

Leave a comment

Filed under News & Events

Leave a Reply

