Winter Weather Prediction

With the National Weather Service closed, we can still get an accurate prediction of the 2014-2014 winter weather using traditional methods:

Woolly Worm Caterpillar (Pyrrharctia isabella)

Woolly Worm Caterpillar (Pyrrharctia isabella)

This woolly worm is telling us that the coming winter will be a very mild one. Notice how wide the brown stripe is:

Woolly Worm Caterpillar (Pyrrharctia isabella)

Woolly Worm Caterpillar (Pyrrharctia isabella)

The more brown, the milder the winter. This is one of the widest brown stripes I’ve seen. Note that the woolly worm can predict only for his local area. This particular woolly worm was observed at approximately 35° 8’23.91″N 82°49’7.14″W, so if you are not close to this location, you will need to find your own woolly worm.

The 36th Annual Woolly Worm Festival in Banner Elk, North Carolina, will be held this year on the 19th and 20th of October. Go here for more information.

6 Comments

Filed under News & Events

6 responses to “Winter Weather Prediction

  1. Awesome photos. I have not seen it here, the woolly worm, although Wikipedia says: “can be found in many cold regions, including the Arctic.”.

    You photos were big surprise to me.

    Like

  2. Hi Ann again.

    Last Friday our old grand singer Danny had concert in my home town Mikkeli. His carrier started already in the 60ties and his first, big song was East Virginia Also in his song he mentions North Caroline saying: “I was born in East Virginia, North Caroline I did roam”. I noticed in Your blogs tags North Carolina. 🙂
    Danny is 71 old singer having 8000 concerts during 50 years and yet today in good condition. East Virginia is yet today one of my favorite song. If You do not mind, I give here the link to Danny’s first hit East Virginia:

    Happy Sunday.

    Like

    • Ann

      Thank you, Sartenada! You are teaching me so much about Finland and her people! Before I started following your blog, all I knew about your country was that it was the best place in the world to get an education and that the great Linus Torvalds was born and grew up in Finland.

      As I listened to this song, it seemed familiar. I grew up in Minnesota (during the ’60s) where there is a large Finnish community, so it’s possible that I had heard it before on the radio.

      Like

  3. fun educational stuff (what with GPS!) about “the worm.” i think where i live is “beyond prediction” — as, who would-a predicted the “biblical” floods? and last winter being much more cold than usual, etc.
    & funny: Sart’s “connection to carolina”!

    Like

    • Ann

      Yes – my connection to Finland is much feebler. I run Linux and regard St. Linus as one of Finland’s National heroes.

      I think weather is kind of moving outside the abilities of our current meteorologists’ (and their various prediction models’) abilities to predict.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Climate Activist Woolly Worm | The Republic of Ann

Leave a Reply

