Playing With HDR

Wet Leaves

Wet Leaves

My “new” camera does bracketing and it’s still raining so I thought this would be a good opportunity to run outside, take 3 photos and come back inside where it’s warm and dry and try my luck at creating an HDR (high dynamic range) image. Luck, indeed. This seems to be a trial and error process with about a gazillion possible outcomes but fortunately, there’s a lot of information online about doing it. The image above is what I ended up with. Here are the three photos I started with:

Trying out HDR: bracketed images

Trying out HDR: bracketed images

I didn’t end up with that hyper-real look you see in a lot of HDR images, but the highlights on the wet leaves are a lot more obvious and the whole image is brighter without having that foggy, washed out look I get when I try to brighten a dark image. It looks more like what I saw with my eyeballs than any of the three images it was created from.

I think. Our eyeballs send images to that PhotoShop area in our brains before we get to “see” them. This is where the 180° rotation happens, so who knows what else is going on?

I used Luminance HDR 2.3.0 and the GIMP 2.8 running on Ubuntu 13.04 for this experiment

3 Comments

Filed under Department of Arts & Tourism

3 responses to “Playing With HDR

  1. the comment is either “hmmmmm”
    or a variant of hmmm: yeah, it is obvious, wet leaves, ‘bright-ness’, etc. with your ‘finished’ product. i’d be lucky to end up with your #3 of the “before”s

    Like

    • Ann

      What do you mean??! Your pictures are gorgeous! Of course, you have some awesome landscape at your doorstep, but I never noticed any bad exposures. And you do a great job on ‘shrooms. Um, what I mean is…your mushroom pix are great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

