Lookin’ Out My Back Door

Lookin' Out My Back Door

Lookin’ Out My Back Door

Bob got some photos the other day of a long, skinny orange, black and white bug (atteva aurea) and I went out this afternoon to find another one to photograph.

Atteva Aurea (by Bob)

Atteva Aurea (by Bob)

I didn’t find one. But the hill behind the house was hopping. I was reminded of the words, “Look at all the happy creatures dancing on the lawn” in Creedence Clearwater Revival’s Lookin’ Out My Back Door. I took a step and ten or fifteen grasshoppers leapt out of the way.

Grasshopper (by Bob)

Grasshopper (by Bob)

If I walk carefully and look closely, I can find all kinds of critters.

Acrosternum hilare (I think)

Acrosternum hilare (I think)

I think this is some sort of shield bug

I think this is some sort of shield bug

Mantis

Mantis

14 Comments

Filed under Nature

14 responses to “Lookin’ Out My Back Door

  1. One by one= awesome takes!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have you got handcuffs for this shield bug? He is a thief, many of those have eaten my raspberries away. They even live there in the bushes. 😛 (joke) Thanks for sharing 😀

    Like

  3. You have so many cute critters around. Thanks for sharing these beautiful images.

    Like

  4. Crooked Tracks

    I thought I saw a lot of grasshoppers this year, your photos are fabulous 🙂

    Like

  5. So lovely photos. Thank You.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

