To Dye for (Socks)

IMGP7014

During the last two weeks, our black walnut tree has been raining black walnuts. I collected a bumper crop….

Bumper crop of black walnuts

Bumper crop of black walnuts

I soaked one ice cream bucketful of them in water for a week and then cooked them for several hours yesterday to make dye.

Black walnut "stew"

Black walnut “stew”

After straining out the nuts and husks, I added about a cup of vinegar, started it simmering again and then dumped in two skeins of undyed wool yarn.

Wool yarn in the dye bath

Wool yarn in the dye bath

The dye bath was very dark, so I only left the yarn in for about a half-hour. After cooling and rinsing, this is what I got:

Black-walnut-dyed wool yarn (soon to be a pair of socks)

Black-walnut-dyed wool yarn (soon to be a pair of socks)

20 Comments

Filed under Nature

20 responses to “To Dye for (Socks)

  1. Amazing color! I love all the shades of brown.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Crooked Tracks

    I love the color. Was the pot stained brown after the boiling?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ann

      Thank you! No – it cleaned up rather well, but I had to use Comet. This stuff does seem to stain almost everything it touches – I sprang a leak in my rubber glove yesterday and my thumb nail is still brown.

      Like

  3. I knew that stuff stains everything!
    Buy what a beatyful tone you obtained for your wool!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. Impressive! Will the colour stay in the socks when you wash them? I’d quite like to see the finish product. You could probably add those photos to these in a slide show so we could see the while process from start to finish. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ann

      Everything I’ve read says the yarn will be colorfast and will also resist the fading you get from sunlight (although, with socks, this isn’t much of a concern). I promise to show sock photos when I’m done. Maybe an in-the-process photo too. The slideshow is a good idea – thank you!

      Now all I need is a spinning wheel and an alpaca.

      Like

  5. Amazing Ann!! Good for you!! Thanks for sharing the process.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, I never new that. Thank You.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How cool! I hope the color doesn’t run. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

