Winter Has Arrived

25 February Snowfall


View from my front porch

We woke up this morning to a winter wonderland. I don’t think we’ve had this much snow for four or five years.

25 February Snowfall


View from my front porch

25 February Snowfall


View from my front porch

Bob had to shovel a path to the truck and, after the plow went by, he had to shovel through the plowbank at the end of the driveway. I don’t know where the shovel came from, but it looked more like one you’d use in the garden – definitely not a regulation snow shovel.

Sorels


Going out to fill the bird feeder

I don’t get to wear my Sorels very often, but when it snows, they are a joy to have! I bought these on clearance for $14.99 in August of 1986 at a Ben Franklin in Grand Marais, Minnesota. I remember how thrilled I was to find an actual pair of Kaufman Sorels at an affordable price. I’d been lusting after those boots for years, but they were way out of my price range. Don’t run out and buy a pair on my say-so – I don’t think they’re being made in Canada any more, so you’d probably end up with cold toes.

28 Comments

Filed under Nature

28 responses to “Winter Has Arrived

    • Ann

      Thank you! This is our first snow this year, so it’s a nice change to look out the window and see something different. Now that we’ve had winter, spring can come any time!

      Like

  1. Crooked Tracks

    I am so glad that I have a pair of those boots made in Canada. Now they are made someplace else and they look like they would fall apart easily. Stay warm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your shots , Ann!
    We didn’t have much snow , this year, but the meteorologists say that we’ll be having a lot next week!
    So happy to see you again, H&K,
    A.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You would laugh yourself silly, Ann, if you could see how excited people were here on the north coast of North Cyprus when we got snow at ground level – all 0.5 inch of it and it melted within a few hours! Have to say I’m no fan of snow but I love looking at your pics – as long as the snow stays in the Rockies!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely photographs! Looks like a perfect winter ! Since it came quite late at your place your shoveling duty will not last long: spring will come soon 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Beautiful winter! I wish we had had some this year. We have spring already! lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the photos. I think snow is absolutely at it’s best in photos 😉 Not much green in sight…I’m still waiting and searching for even the tiniest sign of new life over here. Not much luck yet I’m afrait. But soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. it (winter) is flirting with us now. a town 60 miles from here got 2′ in one storm, then has gotten more since. i think “Junk-town” (us) has gotten 2″ this “winter” so far.

    what a view from your house!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Although winter is yet far away, I enjoyed Your winter photos! My favorite among them are third and fourth photos from the top.

    Happy days!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ann

      Thank you! It’s unusual for us to get that much snow all at once here. It took almost a week to melt. In Minnesota where I grew up, it would snow in November and we wouldn’t see the ground again until April or May – much more like your climate. Here, it snows one day and melts the next.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. We have a very miserable weather here so I thought I would scroll down to check out your posts from last winter – I didn’t blog in February. I was delighted to learn that you have such a fine pair of boots. I used to have a jacket and a pair of boots made in Canada – both were light and warm at the same time. Good stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

